Theft

FLORIDA STATUTES SECTION 812.014

A person has committed theft when he/she knowingly obtains or uses the property of another, without their permission, with the intent to deprive them of it or use it as their own.

Petit theft seems to be not such a severe crime; however, the penalties increase each time you engage in petit theft, and it is a crime against dishonesty which makes it difficult to obtain employment, especially, if you have committed petit theft against an previous employer.

A person who commits theft of property valued at less than $100.00 is guilty of petit theft, a second degree misdemeanor which is punishable by up to sixty (60) days in the county jail and up to a $500.00 fine. However, a second conviction for the same level of theft results in a first degree misdemeanor and is punishable by up to twelve (12) months in the county jail and the suspension of your driver's license.

A person who commits theft of property valued greater than $100.00 but less than $300.00 is guilty of a first degree misdemeanor petit theft. This charge is punishable by up to one year in the county jail and a fine not to exceed $1,000.00, and the suspension of your driver's license. A person convicted for the third (or greater) time is guilty of a third degree felony which is punishable by up to five (5) years in Florida State Prison and a fine not to exceed $5,000.00, and the suspension of your driver's license

Florida Statutes enumerates a long list of theft offenses that constitute grand theft in the third degree, a third degree felony, also punishable by up to five (5) years Florida State Prison and a fine not to exceed $5,000.00, and the suspension of your driver's license. This list includes:

• Property valued at $100 or more, but less than $300, if taken from a dwelling.

• Property valued at $300 or more, but less than $5000.

• Property valued at $5,000 or more but less than $10,000.

• Property valued at $10,000 or more but less than $20,000.

• A will, codicil or other testamentary instrument.

• A firearm.

• A motor vehicle.

• Any commercially farmed animal.

• Any fire extinguisher.

• Any citrus fruit consisting of 2,000 or more pieces.

• Property taken from any construction site.

• Any stop sign.

• Anhydrous ammonia.

Florida Statutes enumerates a list of theft offenses that constitute grand theft in the second degree, a second degree felony, punishable by up to fifteen (15) years Florida State Prison and a fine not to exceed $10,000.00, and the suspension of your driver's license. This list includes:

• Property valued at $20,000 or more, but less than $100,000.

• Cargo valued at less than $50,000.

• Emergency medical equipment valued at $300 or more.

• Law Enforcement equipment valued at $300 or more.

Florida Statutes enumerates a long list of theft offenses that constitute grand theft in the first degree, a fist degree felony, punishable by up to thirty (30) years Florida State Prison and a fine not to exceed $10,000.00, and the suspension of your driver's license. This list includes:

• Property valued at $100,000 or more.

• Semitrailer deployed by a law enforcement officer.

• Cargo valued at $50,000 or more.

• If the offender commits grand theft AND:

• Uses a motor vehicle as an instrumentality to assist in committing the offense and damages the real property of another; or

• Causes damage to the real or person property of another in excess of $1,000.

Criminal Defense Against Theft Charges

For more information on how to defend yourself against theft charges, you can contact the attorneys at Schwam-Wilcox & Associates. Call 407-982-2714 or 888-337-5886, or send us an email to schedule a complementary consultation.